It should have different files and sub-folders in it, too. There are two ways to delete backup files off of your Time Machine external drive. I want to leave the info on there from my son's computer but delete the rest of the info and then start fresh with the other two computers. As with all Terminal sessions, you should back up all your data immediately before you start and makes sure you follow the instructions carefully, typing the commands exactly as they appear. If a Time Machine backup fails or gets interrupted then incomplete backups can result.
If you use AirPort Time Capsule, you may be asked to enter a password to access the backup disk. Once they are removed, you can unplug the drive. But my husband and I want to start over with ours as the data on the capsule is old. Open Time Machine preferences to select a larger backup disk or make the backup smaller by excluding files. I know Time Machine itself is able to remove old backups when it needs more space.
After you confirm with your password, the backup will be permanently deleted for that specific day. In my case that reported Starting to compact… Reclaiming free space…. This is how the syntax would be:. Do you have a single Time Machine drive that you use to back up multiple? Deleting old backups should be your first order of business in situations when your Time Machine backup disk runs out of space. If you only want to delete some of the snapshots. In that menu select System Preferences. If deleting Time Machine backups is too complicated for you, do not hesitate to seek help from experts.
And thanks so much for your help! You can also specify where the backup should be stored. But my husband and I want to start over with ours as the data on the capsule is old. That will give you the settings panel from my previous screenshot. Thankfully I found a post here about deleting local snapshots using tmutil. When the external time machine backup kicks off, the local snapshot gets updated and the prior one deleted. Therefore, it is clear that the Time Machine backup is a great feature.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 on this site the. To see a list of all backups, type: tmutil listbackup. Just accept the warning and wait for the file to delete. Make sure your backup drive is connected to your Mac. As Time Machine needs the space, it will overwrite the existing data accordingly. So if you've just picked up a Time Capsule or an Extreme or can get your hands on a new one, you'll can rest assured that you'll be covered, hardware and software, for the next 5 years so using it as your main backup device is still a great way to go.
Click the small Apple at he top left of your screen in the menu bar. Once done, the backup for that specific day will be deleted. Fortunately, there's an extremely easy way to get that space back by deleting these old backups, and you can do it right from within the Time Machine interface. At this moment you need to make a choice to remove backups from Mac, and for that, you need to know how to delete backups on Mac. Local snapshots, which are taken each day, are kept on your internal hard drive.
When you start to run short of space, Time Machine will ask you if you want to delete backups. . . That will completely remove that folder from the Time Machine backup while leaving everything else. Thankfully I found a post here about deleting local snapshots using tmutil. You will be prompted to provide your administrator password to continue. That really had me stymied.
First, you need to look for the Time Machine icon on the Menu bar. What I'm trying to do is this: Our Time Capsule backs up 3 computers and is almost full. And the procedure to exit Time Machine after selecting files and folders for deletion is also not obvious: you have to click cancel in the lower left hand corner. When you delete one, that directory entry goes away where you deleted and the link count is now 99. Deleting Time Machine snapshots In addition to deleting Time Machine backups, you may need to delete snapshots sometime.
I'm using a wireless rather than hardwired connection. It might well do and the fact it doesn't on a Time Capsule may simply be a peculiarity of the sparse bundle protocol. You can also use this same method to delete any other backup files from the disk. By doing this, you free up space that Time Machine is currently using. Does this ever change to show a number, and is the field size limited? But in this case it does not remove any Mac 1 backups to make space for Mac 2. .